Step 3 of the HotDocs Advance workflow: Create a work item

Sharing a Work Item

When you create a work item, you can choose whether to share your work item to members of your work group. By default, work items are not shared, i.e. they are invisible to other members of the work group so only you can access your work items. If you want other members of your work group to collaborate on your work item, you can share the work item. The other members can then relaunch the interview, update answers and assemble new assembled documents for the work item.

A Site Administrator can change the default sharing status of new work items.

To share a work item on creation

When you create a new work item, you can choose whether to share your work item.

  1. Create a work item
  2. (Optional) If you choose to share the work item with all user in your work group, check Share with all users of this work group. Work items are private by default.
  3. Click Save.

The work item's details pane displays the sharing status of the work item.

To share an existing work itemNew UI

You can only change work item sharing settings if you are the owner of the work item or a Site Administrator. If you are not, the Share button is disabled.

  1. Select the work item you want to share.
  2. Click Share.
  3. In the Share work item dialog, select one of the sharing options:
    • Just me
    • Work group
    • Individual users
  4. (Optional) If you choose Individual users, type in the field to filter the list, and then select the users. The list shows the active users who have access to the work group.
  5. (Optional) To send users an email about the work item, select the Notify users checkbox. This checkbox is cleared by default.
    • (Optional) Type a message in the custom message field to include it in the email.
  6. Click Save.

Advance displays a message confirming that the access to the work item was updated. Users you have given access to can open the work item, and users you have removed can no longer view or open it.

If one of the users you selected no longer has access to the work group, the dialog stays open, removes that user from your selection and refreshes the list. Check your selection and click Save again.

To share an existing work itemClassic UI

You can only change work item sharing settings if you are the owner of the work item or an administrator.

  1. Select a Work group from the Work groups section.
  2. In the Work Items list, select the Work item you want to edit.
  3. In the Details pane, click ShareShare.
  4. Select one of the sharing options:
    • Do not share
    • Share with all users of this work group
    • Share with individual users in your work group
  5. (Optional) If you choose to share with individual users, type in the field to add the user details.
  6. (Optional) If you choose to share the work item, select the Notify users of shared work item checkbox to send users an email with details of the work item. 
    • (Optional) If you choose to notify user of the shared work item, type in the custom message field to add a message which will display in the email notification.
  7. Click Save.

The work item details pane shows the updated sharing setting.