Advance WorkflowUpload a template Make template accessible to users Work Items Download assembed documents

User Groups Overview

User groups are collections of user accounts, used to control users' access to work groups.

Overview

User access to templates in HotDocs Advance is controlled by allocation of user groups to work groups. Template users can only access templates in work groups to which their user groups are assigned. This enables you to organize users into groups with related interests and give them access to specific work groups. For example, to organize users into a user group for an organization's legal department and give them access to legal department-specific templates.

The Manage user groups page is only visible if you are logged in to HotDocs Advance as a Site Administrator.

Common Tasks

Workflow

You will typically create a user group after you created or imported user accounts. You can then add users to the user group and assign the user group to a template group. After you have created a user group, you may need to add or remove users.

Users in the assigned user groups may then access the templates in the work group. For example:

  1. A Work group (Employment Agreements) is created in HotDocs Advance, with six templates allocated.
  2. A User group (HR Department) is created in HotDocs Advance, with three users allocated.
  3. The HR Department user group is assigned to the Employment Agreements work group.
  4. All users in the HR Department user group can access the templates in the Employment Agreements work group; i.e. they can load interviews and assemble documents using the templates.

User group access permissions for templates

User group access permissions for templates are assigned in the Manage work groups section of HotDocs Advance.

Everyone User Group

The Everyone user group is a user group containing every user account created within Advance. It is a default user group, named Everyone, created by Advance during installation. When you add new users, Advance automatically adds them to the Everyone group. The purpose of the Everyone user group is to make it simpler to give template group access to all users.

If you upgrade from an earlier version of Advance and have your own user group named Everyone, Advance will migrate that user group to a new group, named Everyone_old.

Related Common Tasks